## Notification

# Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Award - 2021

Dr. C. Chandrasekharan was a prominent Economist, Forest Officer and the founder Director of Kerala Forest Research Institute. He was an eminent social scientist and his commitment to society is reflected in all his work. The legacy of Dr. C. Chandrasekharan proposed to be propagated through the award constituted in his remembrance to recognize socially relevant research work carried out by a researcher in the field of 'forest conservation and management in Kerala'.

In this context, Applications/ Nominations are invited from researchers, below 35 years of age, working on any aspect of forest conservation and management in Kerala for the 12<sup>th</sup> Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Award. The award will consist of a certificate, gold medal and a cash prize of Rs. 40,000/-. A brief bio-data and write-up of not more than 1000 words containing the objectives, current status, innovative content of the research work etc. may be sent to Kerala Forest Research Institute, Peechi **by e-mail** addressed to **director@kfri.org** indicating subject as Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Award-2021 on or before 20<sup>th</sup> July 2022.

If there is any query on the same, please contact Dr. P.A. Jose, Principal Scientist and Convenor of the Endowment Committee (<u>pajosekfri@gmail.com</u> or Mob. 9495482748).

After screening the applications, selected candidates will be invited for a presentation at KFRI, Peechi before an audience. The award will be presented in a function by an eminent Forester/ Forest Scientist who will be delivering Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Lecture which is fixed tentatively on 13<sup>th</sup> September 2022.

> Dr. Syam Viswanath Director and Chairman of Endowment Committee

24 June 2022

# 12<sup>th</sup> Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Award – 2021



KSCSTE - Kerala Forest Research Institute, Peechi



### Dr. C. Chandrasekharan

Dr. C. Chandrasekharan was a prominent economist, Forest Officer and the founder Director of Kerala Forest Research Institute. He was an eminent social scientist and his commitment to society is reflected in all his work. He served as Regional Forestry Economist of FAO, Team Leader of the World Bank funded GoI/ FAO project in Indonesia. He has published over 120 papers and reports on forestry and related topics. He passed away in the year 2007 at the age of 74.

The award is instituted by the family of late Dr. C. Chandrasekharan to encourage and support a young researcher working on forest and environment in Kerala to excel. The award carries a certificate, gold medal and a cash prize of Rs. 40,000/-.

## Who can apply?

The researchers, below 35 years of age, working on any aspect of forest conservation and management in Kerala are eligible. However, those who were already received the Award will be exempted. **Selection of the winner** 

The biodata along with write up containing research work will be evaluated by the Endowment committee of KFRI. The shortlisted three candidates invited to make a public presentation of their work. The presentation will be evaluated by the audience include scientists and project staff of the institute. The top scorer is declared as the winner.

#### **Memorial Function**

The award will be presented in a function by an eminent Forester/ Forest Scientist who will be delivering Dr. C. Chandrasekharan Memorial Lecture. The 12<sup>th</sup> Memorial award function will be held on 13<sup>th</sup> September 2022 at KFRI, Peechi.

#### Awardies – a glance

- Dr. Joyce Jose, KFRI (2010)
- Dr. K.H. Amitha Bachan, Western Ghats Hornbill Foundation (2011)
- Dr. K.S. Anoop Das, Salim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History (2012)
- Mr. P. A. Vinayan, WWF, India (2013)
- Mr. Sandeep Das, KFRI and Dr. V. P. Thomas, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta (2014)
- Ms. Reshma J. and Mr. Divin Murukesh (2015).
- Mr. Vivek Philip Cyriac, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram and
- Ms. Jis Sebastian, Saraswathi Narayanan College, Perungudi, Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai (2016)
- Mr. Ranjith A. P., Dept. of Zoology, University of Calicut, Calicut (2017)
- Mr. Roshnath R., Kannur (2018)
- Mr. Dhaneesh Bhaskar (KFRI) and Mr. Sreehari Raman, Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Yunnan, China (2019)
- Mr. Rajesh T.P., Central University, Kasaragod (2020)