About us » Presentation


  • Status: An autonomous institution of Department of Science and Technology under the Chief Minister, Government of Kerala. Chief Executive of the Department is Principal Secretary, Science & Technology Department, Government of Kerala.
  • Organizational affiliation: The Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment (KSCSTE), Thiruvananthapuram
  • Governing bodies:
  • Research Council (RC): consisting of distinguished scientists from different parts of the country oversees the research of the Institute
  • Management Committee (MC): comprised of the Director and other administrative representatives from the Government and other sister institutions
  • Management Executive: Director
  • Headquarter: Peechi, 20 km from Thrissur
  • Sub-centre: Nilambur, c. 140 km north of Peechi
  • Field Research Station: Velupadam, 30 km south east of Peechi
  • International Coordination Centres attached to KFRI: Asia-Pacific Forest Invasive Species Network (APFISN) and TEAKNET, both supported by FAO
  • Other attached Units: a. Kerala Forest Seed Centre (KFSC), b. Teak Museum (Nilambur), and c. Bio resources Park (Nilambur)
  • Additional facilities: Central Instrumentation Unit, Specialised laboratories, Herbarium, Xylarium, Palmetum, Orchidarium, Arboretum, Bambusetum, Canetum, Medicinal Plants’ Garden, Central Nursery, Plant Tissue Culture facility, Mist Chamber, Library, Tree Health Helpline, Museums on Teak, Wildlife and Soil
  • Staff strength: Scientific (56), Administrative & Technical (76), Project staff (75)
  • Publications: Books/Proceedings: 75. Research reports: 400. Scientific papers: 1400. CDs/ Software: 10. Information bulletins: 30 (See Appendix). Journal: 1 (Journal of Bamboo & Rattan). Newsletter: Evergreen
  • Annual budget: Rs.13 Crores/year